Najaney kiya hoa *dunno what happened*

This poem was originally written in Urdu, now translated in English under every line

Image

Najaney kiya hoa
*dunno what happened*

Najaney yeh kiya hoa mujhey, kiss ka intezaar tha,
*dunno what happaned to me, who i was waiting for*

Jo yakdam banney sawarney lagi.
*that suddenly i started to beautify*

Ghantoon aainey key samney baith ker,
*hours of sittin in front of a mirror*

khud hi sey sawal kerney lagi,
*kept questioning my self*

toh kon hai? kiya hai? khud ko kiya samajhti hai?
*who are you? what are you? and what do you think of you?*

Sab ajnabeeon ki tarhaan khud hi sey poochney lagi.
*questioned my self like a stranger*

Dekha jo unka aks aainey mein toh eik pal ko sharma gai.
*I blushed for a moment as i saw your reflection*

Phir zra ghoor kiya toh ahsaan hoa, keh yeh mera hi aks tha,
*i concentrated and realized its my very own reflection*

jiss ko unka samajh baithi.
*that i mistook as his*

Khud hi ko apney sir pey laga key chapat
*then gave my self a lil pat on the head*

kaha mainey keh aye pagal jaldbaazi nahi, hoosh ker.
*told my self that hey stupid, dont be impatient, be alert*

Phir sharmatey hoye, zulfein sametein aur keh kr aainey ko alwida mein chal di.
*blushingly, managing the strands of my hair, waved bye to the mirror, i walked away*

Najaney yeh kiya hoa mujhey kiss ka intezaar tha,
*Dunno what happaned to me, who i was waiting for*

jo yakdam banney sawarney lagi
*that suddenly i started to beautify*

Tya!
15th May 1996′

2 thoughts on “Najaney kiya hoa *dunno what happened*

  1. Reading your poem makes me think of my daughters who are beginning to be aware of themselves and are now spending time on making themselves look good. Part of growing up I guess.

Leave a Reply

